Wisconsin No-Fault Divorce Laws
Wisconsin is a no-fault divorce state, which means the dissolution of a marriage does not require either party to show wrongdoing by the other party. As a no-fault divorce state, Wisconsin residents are not required, as they may be in other states, to wait 180 days to five years to file a no-fault divorce.
Wisconsin law provides family courts the ability to grant a divorce in response to a petition by either party of a marriage. The petitioner is not required to provide proof the other party breached the marital contract.
Legal Grounds for filing a No-Fault Divorce
As a no-fault divorce state, Wisconsin has determined the only required grounds for divorce is the irretrievable breakdown of the marriage. This can be shown to the court in one of three ways based on Wisconsin Statute 767.07:
- A joint petition is filed by the married parties requesting a divorce
- The married parties are found to be living separate and apart for 12 months
- A family court finds the marriage as irretrievable and broken down with no possible chance of reconciliation
Don’t allow the situation to get out of hand. Talk to an experienced family law attorney that will help you by forecasting the major issues and set clear expectations. We will help you manage stress during very difficult decisions and keep you prepared.